IIHF 2019 Championship

Share This

The 2019 edition of IIHF World Championship 2019, where the 16 teams take part for the trophy. Each team played 6 games in Pool and there are two different groups. After the Group matches, Quarterfinals played by top 2 teams of Groups where Semifinals and Final matches played on 25 and 26 May

Men’s IIHF World Championship 2019 Schedule 2018 | Time Table | Fixtures

Group A Matches

21 May 2019
Finland vs Germany
Slovakia vs Denmark
Canada vs United States

Group B Matches

21 May 2019
Czech Republic vs Switzerland
Norway vs Latvia
Sweden vs Russia

Playoff Round

23 May 2019
A1 vs B4
B2 vs A3
A2 vs B3
B1 vs A4

Semifinals and Final 25 and 26 May

Ice Hockey World Championships History, Canada was the tournament’s first dominant team, winning the tournament 12 times between 1930 and 1952. The United States, Czechoslovakia, Sweden, Great Britain and Switzerland were also competitive during this period. The Soviet Union first participated in 1954 and soon became rivals with Canada. From 1963 until the nation’s breakup in 1991, the Soviet Union was the dominant team, winning 20 championships. During that period, only three other nations won medals: Canada, Czechoslovakia and Sweden. Russia first participated in 1992 and the Czech Republic and Slovakia began competing in 1993. In the 2000s, the competition became more open as the “Big Six” teams – Canada, the Czech Republic, Finland, Russia, Sweden, and the United States.